Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List
HomeAdvocacy

Be an Advocate for Cycling in Lancaster County

This is a page of resources for bicycle advocacy. On this page you will find links to the organizations actually doing the work. LBC has a representative to LancasterBikes! to further the implementation of infrastructure and work for safer streets.

Click here to order your Share the Road License Plate

 

LOCAL

LBC Position Statement – where we stand as a club on bicycle infrastructure and other issues

 

Lancaster Bikes!-Facebook


Lancaster County Active Transportation Plan – the county wide plan for bicycle infrastructure. The first phase of this plan involves the City of Lancaster, E. Lampeter Twp, Manheim Twp, & E. Hempfield Twp.  

 

GOVERNMENT

Lancaster City Council

James Reichenbach, President - jreichenbach@cityoflancasterpa.com

Chris Ballentine - cballentine@cityoflancasterpa.com

Faith Craig - fcraig@cityoflancasterpa.com

Janet Diaz - jdiaz@cityoflancasterpa.com

John Graupera - jgraupera@cityoflancasterpa.com

Ismail Smith Wade-El - ismithwadeel@cityoflancasterpa.com

Pete Soto - psoto@cityoflancasterpa.com

Address

City of Lancaster

120 N. Duke St.

Lancaster, PA 17608

 

Manheim Township Commissioners

Albert B. King, President - akling@manheimtownship.org

Samuel Mecum – smecum@manheimtownship.org

Donna E DiMeo – ddimeo@manheimtownship.org

Thomas O’Brien – tobrien@manheimtownship.org

David R. Heck - dheck@manheimtownship.org

Address

Manheim Township

1840 Municipal Drive

Lancaster, PAS 17601

 

East Lampeter Township Supervisors

Corey Meyer - cmeyer@eastlampetertownship.org

John Blowers - jblowers@eastlampetertownship.org

David Buckwalter - dbuckwalter@eastlampetertownship.org

Ethan Demme - edemme@eastlampetertownship.org

Glen L. Eberly - geberly@eastlampetertownship.org

Address

2250 Old Philadelphia Pk

Lancaster, PA 17602

 

East Hempfield Supervisors

W. Scott Wiglesworth - wiglesworth@easthempfield.org

H. Scott Russell - russell@easthempfield.org

Thomas A. Bennett - bennett@easthempfield.org

Douglas W. Brubaker - brubaker@easthempfield.org

G. Edward LeFevre - edward@easthempfield.org

Address

1700 Nissley Rd.

Landisville, PA 17538

 

NATIONAL/REGIONAL

League of American Bicyclists – a national bicycle advocacy group

 

People for Bikes - a  national bicycle advocacy organization

 

Bicycle Coalition of Greater Philadelphia – a regional bicycle advocacy group working in the city of Philadelphia as well as Montgomery, Bucks & Chester counties

 

Bicycle South Central PA – a regional bicycle advocacy group 

 

LEGAL

Bike Law – a national association of legal professionals dedicated to representing bicyclists who have been hit by cars. 

 

Piscitello Law – The PA Bike Law lawyer. His practice is almost exclusively bicyclists

 

 


 

Adopt a Highway

The Adopt-a-Highway program was started back in 1992 by Harry Campbell [deceased] as a way for our club to give back to Lancaster County. We are expected to clean up Columbia Ave. from Donnerville Rd. to Rohrerstown Rd. 3 times a year. PA DOT supplies us with gloves, reflective vests & trash bags.

 Ice Cream Lovers Ride

As featured in Bicycling Magazines best ride for PA. On this 40-mile route, you can find killer ice cream at Bird-in-Hand Bakery (12 miles), Lapp Valley Farm (23 miles), and Oregon Dairy (36 miles), where scoops are sized calf, heifer, or cow.

Out of Area Rides

Suburban Cyclists Unlimited (SCU) maintains a great list of out of area rides. You can view that list by clicking here.